The Scottish Mathematical Council is a charitable body, registered in Scotland. Our aims are to foster and improve mathematical education at all levels, and to encourage the advancement and application of mathematics throughout Scotland. The current Chair of the SMC is Dr Alan Walker, who is supported by the members of the SMC.

The Scottish Mathematical Council held its first meeting on 25 September 1967. Initially the Council had 15 members of whom six were nominated by the Edinburgh Mathematical Society, six by the Glasgow Mathematical Association and three by the Scottish Branch of the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications. The size of the Council has remained essentially unaltered, although members are no longer externally nominated, and the membership spans the full range of Scottish mathematical education as well as including representation from industry.

Our activities are governed by our Constitution and by our financial procedures policy.

Check back soon for updates on our current membership.